Matt Heard

Software developer and philosopher in Berlin
13 Feb 2016

Permitted moral actions

There are three categories of moral actions: forbidden, required, and permitted. Forbidden actions are those which one must not do. Required actions are those which one must do. Permitted actions are those which one may or may not do. When searching for a moral code to guide their lives, people look for a system of principles, justifications, and directions for how to act. This makes restrictive religious standards popular and powerful. Alternatively, if a moral code primarily consists of only permitted actions, people can’t use the moral code to make decisive choices because they are given too much wiggle room.

Related links:

The image above was remixed using the following source image: